Open Design City

Open Design City

Festival edition: 
2011
Format: 
community
interactive
workshop project
Bioplastics Display, DMY Maker Lab, Photo Mendel Heit
Bioplastics Display, DMY Maker Lab, Photo Mendel Heit

Open Zone, Open Design City 'Make Your Own Market'

Workstation mit  Open Design City (de), Jay Cousins (uk), Christopher Doering (de), GRLG (de), Trial & Error Kulturlabor (de) und Sie

 

1 Feb, 20:00 - 23:00 (Opening Act/Workshop)

Montag-Samstag 11:00 - 22:00

Sonntag 12:00-22:00

 

Die Open Design City ist ein Ort für kollektives Arbeiten, neue Bürger-Beziehungen und -Projekte in Berlin. Inspiriert von den Prinzipien der freien Software und Open Source Bewegung, entsteht hier

 

Jay Cousins und Christopher Doering, die Gründer und Bürger der Open Design City, ziehen während der transmediale.11 in die Open Zone im Foyer des Haus der Kulturen. An ihrem „Selbstmach-Markt"-Stand geben sie Einführungen in ‚offenes Design' und stellen Tools und Geräte zur Verfügung sowie neue Bezahlmethoden vor. Cousins und Doering schaffen demnach einen Raum, wo nicht nur das Geldsystem und die freie Kultur aufeinander treffen, sondern wo Festivalbesucher neue Skills erlernen, bzw. deren eigene Produkte und Dienstleistungen gegen Tausch oder Bezahlung anbieten können.

 

Angebotene Workshops reichen von Siebdrucken und der Plastikherstellung zu 3D-Drucken, Nähen und ‚Upcycling'. Spezialgeräte wie eine CNC-Schneidemaschine und ein 3D-Printer stehen allen Besuchern kostenlos zur Verfügung. Auch Materialien werden gestellt. Trotzdem sei aber empfohlen, selbst Gegenstände zum Upcyclen, Customisen oder Tauschen mitzubringen.

 

Spezielle Gäste der Open Design City: Das Graffiti Research Lab Deutschland mit ihrem Projekt SVG2BVG benutzt Standard-Bildsoftware um Graffiti Tags aufzuspüren. Die Software versendet dann die Muster an einen DIY Laserschneider, der das Stencil in Echtzeit exportiert. Die Stencils sind passend für die Bildschirme des Berliner U-Bahnfernsehens optimiert und ermöglichen es dir, deine eigenen günstigen, lichtbasierten Graffitis in der Schutzzone deines eigenen Transportsystems zu entwickeln.
http://www.trial-error.org/

 

Open Design City transmediale.11 blog

 

 

Related projects:

3D Fluid Scanning by Friedrich Kirschner

share

Open Design City

Format:
workshop project interactive community

Open Zone, Open Design City 'Make Your Own Market'

Workstation with Open Design City (de), Jay Cousins (uk), Christopher Doering (de), GRLG (de), Trial & Error Kulturlabor (de) and You

 

1 Feb, 20:00 - 23:00 (Opening Act/Workshop)

Monday-Saturday 11:00 - 22:00

Sunday 12:00-22:00

 

The Open Design City in Berlin is a collaboration space in which new relationships and projects are formed between its citizens. It is a space that takes principles derived from the Free Software and Open Source movements and applies them to Design. These Open Design principles lead to the sharing of tools, knowledge and skills, so that anyone can get involved if they have the time and commitment.

 

Jay Cousins and Christopher Doering, founders and citizens of Open Design City, take up residence in the Open Zone foyer of the Haus der Kulturen for the duration of the transmediale.11 festival. They bring their tools and equipment for all to share in their "Make Your Own Market" stalls that explore the principles of Open Design and new methods of monetisation and reward. They provide a space for interaction between the monetary system and Free Culture by giving festival visitors the chance to learn skills, and a platform to make and sell or exchange their own products and services.

 

Visitors are encouraged to share their own skills with others and to take part in open workshops ranging from screen printing to plastic making and 3D printing to sewing and upcycling. Specialised equipment such as a CNC cutter and 3D printer are free for all visitors to use. Materials will be provided but visitors are encouraged to bring items to upcycle, customise and exchange.

 

Special guests of the Open Design City: Graffiti Research Lab Germany with their SVG2BVG project!
SVG2BVG uses custom computer vision software to detect graffiti tags, sends the ensuing shape to a diy laser cutter, and then outputs the tag as a stencil in realtime. The stencils are conveniently sized for the television screens in the Berlin U-Bahn system, allowing you to create cheap, non-permanent, light-based graffiti in the comfort of your own transit system.

 

Trial & Error Kulturlabor is a Berlin based, non profit organization, working with crafts, D.I.Y. culture, arts and media, towards a bright sustainable future.

Friday Clothes Swapping

 

Find out more about this event by reading Open Desgin City's blog 
 

 

Related Projects:

3D Fluid Scanning by Friedrich Kirschner