Video Vortex Hangout

Video Vortex Hangout

Date: 
01.02.2013 14:30
Festival edition: 
2013
Format: 
Screening
Festival format
Location: 
HKW
Lecture Hall

Internationale Korrespondenten interpretieren Videosphären

Internationale Korrespondenten interpretieren Videosphären

 


Obwohl Englisch in der internationalen Kommunikation noch die meist gesprochene Sprache ist, haben sich im russischen Internet, hinter der chinesischen Firewall und in afrikanischen Ländern aktive soziale (Video)-Netzwerke mit ganz eigenen Subkulturen aufgebaut. Über Youtube-Kanäle, Blogs und andere soziale Medien sind persönliche und oft erratische Einblicke möglich. Doch was wird auf der Mikro-Ebene verhandelt, wie verändert sich der Gebrauch von Video im Web und welche neuen Phänomene zeichnen sich ab?



 

Bevor Video Vortex #9: Re:assemblies of Video in Lüneburg stattfindet, haben internationale Korrespondenten unter anderem in Athen, Peking, Istanbul, Seoul, Lagos und Berlin im Herbst 2012 begonnen, Videos zu kommentieren und zu posten. Im Kontext der Konferenz werden diese Beiträge als Referenzmaterial wieder auftauchen, um eine engere Verbindung zwischen (theoretischem) Diskurs und digitaler Praxis herzustellen – denn in den Videosphären vermischen sich bekannte Formate und Medien zu neuen Hybriden.



 

Während der transmediale werden wir in drei „Studios“ schalten und anhand von Videobeispielen mit den Korrespondenten die „language bubble“ überspringen. Ma Ran stellt Videoparodien im chinesischen Internet vor, Matthew Andeiza aus Nigeria hinterfragt stereotype Repräsentationen von Afrika, und Boaz Levin untersucht die Bewegung der Medien hin zum Unmittelbaren.


share

Related texts:

Video Vortex Hangout

Fri 01.02.
Fri 01.02.
Format:
Conference Festival format Screening
Festival thread Networks
Location:
hkw theatersaal

International Correspondents Interpret Video Spheres



 

Though English is the most common language of international communication, in the Russian Internet, behind the Chinese firewall and in African countries active social (video) networks are constructed with completely unique subcultures. Through YouTube channels, blogs and other social media, personal and often erratic insight is possible. But what is negotiated on the micro level, how is video use in the web changing and what new phenomena stand out?



 

Before Video Vortex #9: Re:assemblies of Video takes place in Lüneburg, international correspondents began in autumn 2012 to comment on and post videos in Athens, Beijing, Istanbul, Seoul, Lagos and Berlin, among other places. In the conference context, these contributions resurface as reference material to create a closer connection between (theoretical) discourse and digital practice—as known formats and media intermix into new hybrids.



 

During transmediale, we switch to three “studios” and with the help of video samples, jump over the “language bubble” with our correspondents. Ma Ran introduces video parodies in the Chinese Internet, Matthew Andeiza from Nigeria questions stereotypical representations of Africa and Boaz Levin investigates the movement of media toward immediacy.