The Magical Secrecy Tour

Date: 
05.06.2014 12:30
Photo: Annette Hornischer | Design: Aniana Heras Cosín
Photo: Annette Hornischer | Design: Aniana Heras Cosín

Am 5. Juni 2014 ist ein Jahr vergangen, seitdem der NSA-Whistleblower Edward Snowden in die weltweite Öffentlichkeit trat. An diesem Datum wird die transmediale/resource erkunden, warum Berlin die Hauptstadt des informierten Widerstands gegen die Massenüberwachung geworden ist.

 

Bustour Datum und Uhrzeit: Donnerstag, 5. Juni 2014 – 12:30-21:00

 

TICKETS FÜR DIE BUSTOUR KAUFEN

 

June 5, 2014 – a year after Snowden.
8 hours by bus into the surveillance culture of Berlin, plus whistle-blowing, films and performances.

 

Am 5. Juni 2014 ist ein Jahr vergangen, seitdem der NSA-Whistleblower Edward Snowden in die weltweite Öffentlichkeit trat. An diesem Datum wird die transmediale/resource zusammen mit dem N.K. Projekt und Leslie Dunton-Downer, Fellow der American Academy in Berlin in einem Programm erkunden, warum Berlin die Hauptstadt des informierten Widerstands gegen die Massenüberwachung geworden ist.

 

Das Projekt am 5. Juni verbindet Gegenwart und Vergangenheit und fragt danach, was die Überwachungskultur Deutschlands uns über die wirkliche Macht heutiger Daten hungriger Staaten, Organisationen und Firmen lehren kann. Durch dieses Thema soll versucht werden, neu aufkommende Verbindungen im Widerstand gegen das massive Sammeln und Ausnutzen von Daten zu stärken. Das Programm lädt eine Mischung aus Berlins mutigen Hackern, Technologie-affinen Künstlern, radikalen Politikern, Anwälten, Journalisten und Whistle-Blowern dazu ein, neue kreative Unterbrechungen in der fünften Gewalt im Staat zu präsentieren.

 

 

Programm am 5. Juni 2014

 

8:00 - 8:30 – Whistleblower Sun Salute (Öffentlich)

 

Eine Versammlung am Brandenburger Tor, um den 5. Juni mit einer Whistle-Blowing-Session Willkommen zu heißen, unter der Leitung von Colin Hacklander vom N.K. Projekt. Bringt eine Pfeife mit, um Edward Snowden und andere Whistle-Blower zu ehren und ein öffentliches Werk partizipativer Kunst zu schaffen. Mehr Informationen.

 

12:30 - 21:00 – The Magical Secrecy Tour, Berlin by Bus post-Snowden

 

TICKETS FÜR DIE BUSTOUR KAUFEN

 

Eine einmalige Untersuchung der Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und möglichen Zukunft von Überwachung. Die Fahrgäste besuchen wichtige Orte der historischen oder gegenwärtigen Überwachungskultur und der Snowden-Enthüllungen. Sie sprechen in („Rolling“) Panel-Diskussionen mit Künstlern, Aktivisten und Experten über die Wichtigkeit Berlins in diesem Zusammenhang und mögliche Antworten und Reaktionen auf die Überwachungskultur im Hier und Jetzt. Moderiert wird das Ganze vom künstlerischen Leiter der transmediale, Kristoffer Gansing.

 

Einige Stichworte zu Orten und Diskussionsinhalten der Tour: Orte der Opposition, die Deutsche Verfassung, Menschlichkeit als Big Data behandeln, Martin Luther King und ziviler Ungehorsam, 'Sousveillance', Wirtschaftsspionage, Firmen, die mit Daten handeln, digitaler Stalinismus, das Erbe der Hacker-Kultur und selbstgewähltes Exil im Berlin nach Snowden, und (natürlich!) Merkels Handy.

 

21:00 – Happening at N.K. Projekt, Elsenstraße 52, 12059 Neukölln (Öffentlich)

 

Eintritt: €10

 

Ein außergewöhnlicher, vom N.K. Projekt kuratierter Abend mit Antworten von Musikern und Künstlern auf Datenpolitik, Überwachung, Privatsphäre, Kulturen der Angst und Snowdens Taten. Kommt und hört vertonte Metadaten, Experimente mit von Computern kontrollierten Instrumenten und Stroboskopen, algorithmische Kompositionen durch verschieden programmierte Umgebungen; und seht vertraute NSA-Bilder in neuen Licht. Mit Mattin, Jan Tilman Schade, Hacklander\Hatam mit Fredrik Olofsson, Matthew Goodheart, Paul Brody, The New Berlin Oriental Quintet und vielen anderen… Mehr Informationen.

 

__________________________________________________

 
FUSE:  applied algorithmic decay & controlled experiments in encryption – Hört euch zur Vorbereitung auf den 5. Juni die US-Amerikanische und die Deutsche Verfassung sowie die UN-Verfassung der Menschenrechte und eine Unabhängigkeitserklärung des Cyberspaces an. Das dreitägige Klangstück kommt am 5. Juni im N.K. Projekt zu seinem dramatischen Höhepunkt. Eine Produktion von Farah Hatam, Colin Hacklander und Leslie Dunton-Downer.

 

Hier von 03.06.2014 05:00 bis 05.06.2014 12:00 als Live-Stream zu hören.

 

> Detailed Project Information (pdf)

 

Programming:  Farahnaz Hatam
Composition & Preparation:  Colin Hacklander & Farahnaz Hatam
Editing:  Colin Hacklander
Librettist:  Leslie Dunton-Downer
Voices:  Léa Wegmann, Jordan Rountree, Samuel Simon & Benjamin Kühni from the Hochschule für Schauspielkunst "Ernst Busch" Berlin

 

 

__________________________________________________

 

Lars and Jonathan: A Berlin Friendship – Der deutsche Schauspieler Lars Eidinger und der amerikanische Autor Jonathan Lethem haben zusammen mit der Regisseurin A.K. Barrett einen Kurzfilm gemacht, der sich spielerisch mit Fragen des Vertrauens und der Freundschaft in einer Welt nach Snowden beschäftigt. Hier wird es den gesamten Film bald zu sehen geben.

 

__________________________________________________

 

Presseanfragen an: press[at]transmediale[dot]de

 

The Magical Secrecy Tour wurde produziert von transmediale/resource, N.K. Projekt und Leslie Dunton-Downer. 

 

Thanks to Pamela Rosenberg for her contribution. Thank-you also to an anonymous donor for his contribution.

 

share

The Magical Secrecy Tour

Thu 05.06.2014 - 12:30
Thu 05.06.2014 - 21:00

Bus tour date and time: Thursday June 5, 2014 – 12:30-21:00

 

BUY TICKETS FOR TOUR

 

June 5, 2014 – a year after Snowden.
8 hours by bus into the surveillance culture of Berlin, plus whistle-blowing, films and performances.

 

June 5, 2014 marks one year since NSA whistleblower Edward Snowden was introduced to a worldwide public. On this date, transmediale/resource teams up with N.K. Projekt and Leslie Dunton-Downer, fellow at The American Academy in Berlin, for a programme exploring Berlin as the global capital of informed response and resistance to mass surveillance.

 

The June 5 project interlays the contemporary and the historical to ask what Berlin's surveillance culture can teach us about the actual powers of today's data-hungry states, organisations, and corporations. By addressing this issue, the attempt is to strengthen thriving new alliances in the resistance to covert massive data collection and exploitation. The programme invites the city's current composition of courageous hackers, technology-based artists, radical politicians, lawyers, journalists, and whistleblowers to outline possible creative interceptions for the fifth estate.

 

 

Detailed Programme June 5, 2014

 

8:00 - 8:30 – Whistleblower Sun Salute (Public Event)

 

Gather at Brandenburger Tor to welcome June 5 with a whistle-blowing session led by Colin Hacklander of N.K. Projekt. Bring a whistle to pay tribute to Edward Snowden and other whistleblowers, and to create a public work of participatory art. Read more.

 

12:30 - 21:00 – The Magical Secrecy Tour, Berlin by Bus post-Snowden

 

BUY TICKETS FOR TOUR

 

A one-off investigation into the past, present, and possible futures of surveillance. Throughout Berlin, passengers discover sites of historic and current relevance to surveillance culture and the Snowden leaks. Passengers also join participating artists, activists, and experts in a rolling "panel" discussion and debate about the significance of Berlin and about possible responses to surveillance culture in the here and now. Moderated by transmediale artistic director Kristoffer Gansing.

 

Hints about locations and discussion subjects covered in the tour: sites of dissidence, the German Constitution, treating humanity as big data, Martin Luther King & civil disobedience, sousveillance, economic espionage, data-dealing corporations, digital Stalinism, the legacy
of hacker culture for self-exiles in post-Snowden Berlin, and (of course!) Merkel's Handy.

 

21:00 – Happening at N.K. Projekt, Elsenstraße 52, 12059 Neukölln (Public Event)

 

Door charge: €10

 

N.K. Projekt curates an exceptional evening with musicians and artists responding to data politics, surveillance & privacy issues, cultures of fear and Snowden's actions. Come hear sonified metadata; experiments in computer-controlled instruments and stroboscopes; algorithmic composition via different programming environments; and see familiar NSA slides in a new light. With Mattin, Jan Tilman Schade, Hacklander\Hatam with Fredrik Olofsson, Matthew Goodheart, Paul Brody, The New Berlin Oriental Quintet, and others... Read more.

 

__________________________________________________

 

FUSE:  applied algorithmic decay & controlled experiments in encryption – Prepare for June 5th by listening to the US Constitution, German Constitution, UN Declaration of Human Rights & A Declaration of the Independence of Cyberspace in states of change and contradiction, embodying the residual & renewable allure of authority and its opposites.

This piece's 3-day saga will reach its dramatic/temporary conclusion at N.K. Projekt on June 5 during the Happening. A production by Farah Hatam, Colin Hacklander and Leslie Dunton-Downer.

 

Tune in here for the live stream from 03.06.2014 05:00 until 05.06.2014 12:00.

 

> Detailed Project Information (pdf)

 

Programming:  Farahnaz Hatam
Composition & Preparation:  Colin Hacklander & Farahnaz Hatam
Editing:  Colin Hacklander
Librettist:  Leslie Dunton-Downer
Voices:  Léa Wegmann, Jordan Rountree, Samuel Simon & Benjamin Kühni from the Hochschule für Schauspielkunst "Ernst Busch" Berlin

__________________________________________________

 

Lars and Jonathan: A Berlin Friendship - German actor Lars Eidinger + American novelist Jonathan Lethem worked with director A.K. Barrett to make a short fiction film that playfully engages questions about trust and friendship in the post-Snowden world.

 

__________________________________________________

 

Press inquiries: press[at]transmediale[dot]de

 

The Magical Secrecy Tour is co-produced by transmediale/resource, N.K. Projekt, and Leslie Dunton-Downer.

 

Thanks to Pamela Rosenberg for her contribution. Thank-you also to an anonymous donor for his contribution.