Marshall McLuhan Lecture 2012 / Andrew Feenberg

Marshall McLuhan Lecture 2012 / Andrew Feenberg

Date: 
01.02.2012 18:00
Festival edition: 
2012
Format: 
Talk
Location: 
Other Locations
Andrew Feenberg, Credit: Neal Rockwell
Andrew Feenberg, Credit: Neal Rockwell

Mit der jährlichen transmediale Marshall McLuhan Lecture lädt die transmediale Persönlichkeiten der kanadischen Kulturszene ein, di  mit ihrer Arbeit die Medientheorie McLuhans im Hinblick auf zeitgenössische Kultur und Gesellschaft ausbauen. Den diesjährigen Vortrag Ten Paradoxes of Technology hält Andrew Feenberg, Canada Research Chair für Philosophy of Technology der School of Communication an der Simon Fraser Universität. | Doors Open: 18:00, Lecture 18:30 (please allow sufficient time for Embassy security), Address: Embassy of Canada, Leipziger Platz 17, 10117 Berlin 

Doors Open: 18:00, Lecture 18:30 (please allow sufficient time for Embassy security)

Address: Embassy of Canada, Leipziger Platz 17, 10117 Berlin  

 

Der Redner der transmediale Marshall McLuhan Lecture 2012 ist Andrew Feenberg.

 

Andrew Feenberg hat den Canada Research Chair für Philosophy of Technology der School of Communication an der Simon Fraser Universität (Burnaby, BC) inne. Seinen Doktortitel erhielt er an der University of California, San Diego, wo er Student von Herbert Marcuse war. Seine Forschungsinteressen sind unter anderem Philosophie der Technologie, Kritische Theorie, Internet und japanische Geistesgeschichte. Seine Arbeit verbindet den Ansatz der Kritischen Theorie mit Konzepten und Methoden aus naturwissenschaftlichen und technologischen Studien. Er ist Autor von Transforming Technology, Questioning Technology, Alternative Modernity, Heidegger and Marcuse und Between Reason and Experience, Co-Autor von When Poetry Ruled the Streets, Technology and the Politics of Knowledge, Modernity and Technology, und The Essential Marcuse. Feenberg hatte Lehraufträge an der Duke University, San Diego State University, an der Universität Paris, der Universität von Brasilia und an der Universität Tokio.

> sfu.ca/~andrewf

 

Mit der transmediale Marshall McLuhan Lecture lädt die transmediale Persönlichkeiten der kanadischen Kulturszene ein, die in ihrer Arbeit McLuhans Medientheorie in Hinblick auf die zeitgenössische Kultur und Gesellschaft erweitern.


Vortragsthema: Ten Paradoxes of Technology

Der Vortrag präsentiert eine Philosophie der Technologie und bezieht sich dabei auf Erkenntnisse der letzten 30 Jahre, in denen Heideggersche und positivistische Ideen angesichts einer Auseinandersetzung mit der wirklichen Welt der Technologie abgelegt wurden. Demnach sind die meisten allgemeingültigen Auffassungen über Technologie falsch. Daher habe ich meine zehn Vorschläge als Paradoxien formuliert, wenngleich ich dieses Wort hier frei verwende, um auf die der Intuition gegenläufige Natur fast all unseres Wissens über Technologie zu verweisen. Es geht um eine Geschichte der Aussöhnung der Inkompatibilitäten zwischen dem Ganzen und den Teilen, dem Laien und dem Experten, von Mitteln und Zwecken, von Autorität und Demokratie, Vernunft und Erfahrung.

 

Moderator

Kristoffer Gansing (se/de)
 

Diese kostenlose Veranstaltung sowie der Vortrag werden in englischer Sprache stattfinden. Um sich anzumelden, bitte eine Email mit dem Betreff 'McLuhan Lecture' schicken an: rsvp@transmediale.de.  Bitte bringen Sie einen gültigen Lichtbildausweis mit zum Einlass in die Botschaft.

 

Die transmediale Marshall McLuhan Lecture ist eine Kooperation zwischen der transmediale und der Botschaft von Kanada.

 

 

(Image: Andrew Feenberg, credit: Neal Rockwell)

share

Marshall McLuhan Lecture 2012 / Andrew Feenberg

Wed 01.02.2012 - 18:00
Wed 01.02.2012 - 20:00
Format:
Talk
Location:
other locations

Doors Open: 18:00, Lecture 18:30 (please allow sufficient time for Embassy security)

Address: Embassy of Canada, Leipziger Platz 17, 10117 Berlin  

 

The transmediale Marshall McLuhan Lecture 2012 will be held by Andrew Feenberg.

 

Andrew Feenberg is Canada Research Chair in Philosophy of Technology at the School of Communication of Simon Fraser University (Burnaby, BC). He received his doctorate from the University of California, San Diego, where he studied under Herbert Marcuse. Among his research interests are philosophy of technology, Critical Theory, the Internet, and Japanese intellectual history. His work combines an approach based on Critical Theory with concepts and methods drawn from the field of Science and Technology Studies. He is the author of Transforming Technology, Questioning Technology, Alternative Modernity, Heidegger and Marcuse, and Between Reason and Experience, co-author of When Poetry Ruled the Streets, and co-editor of Technology and the Politics of Knowledge, Modernity and Technology, and The Essential Marcuse. He has taught at Duke University, San Diego State University, the University of Paris, the University of Brasilia, and the University of Tokyo.
> sfu.ca/~andrewf

 

With the Marshall McLuhan Lecture, the transmediale invites a figure in the Canadian cultural landscape, whose work expands on McLuhan’s media theories in the context of contemporary culture and society, to present their insights.


Lecture topic: Ten Paradoxes of Technology

This lecture presents a philosophy of technology. It draws on what we have learnt in the last 30 years as we abandoned old Heideggerian and positivist notions and faced the real world of technology. It turns out that most of our common sense ideas about technology are wrong. This is why I have put my ten propositions in the form of paradoxes, although I use the word loosely here to refer to the counter-intuitive nature of much of what we know about technology. The story is one of reconciling the incompatibilities between whole and part, lay and expert, means and ends, authority and democracy, reason and experience.


Moderator

Kristoffer Gansing (se/de)

 

This is a free event and the lecture will take place in English. To RSVP please email rsvp@transmediale.de with the subject heading 'McLuhan Lecture'. Please be prepared to present valid photo-ID at the door.

 

transmediale Marshall McLuhan Lecture is a cooperation between transmediale and the Embassy of Canada.

 

 

(Image: Andrew Feenberg, credit: Neal Rockwell)